Festive Dance from 'Mindia'


Product Description

Composer: Alexander Comitas
Duration: 3:00
Grade: 5

Commissioned by the English Arts Council
Dedicated to Philip Harper and the Cory Band





Soprano Cornet
Solo Cornets 1 - 2 - 3 - 4
Repiano Cornet
2nd Cornets 1 - 2
3rd Cornets 1 - 2
Solo Tenorhorn
Tenorhorn 1 - 2
Baritone 1 - 2
Trombone 1 - 2
Bass Trombone
Euphonium 1 - 2
Eb Bass 1 - 2
Bb Bass 1 - 2
Percussion 1: Timpani, Suspended Cymbal, Xylophone
Percussion 2: Snare Drum, Suspended Cymbal
Percussion 3: Tenor Drum, Suspended Cymbal
Percussion 4: Bass Drum, Marimba
Program Notes
During the summer holidays of 2013, while in Georgia for the first time, I chanced upon a number of poems of Vazha Pshavela, an outstanding Georgian poet, born in the second half of the nineteenth century in the Northern Caucasus. I felt immediately attracted to a poem called The Snake Eater (1901), about the tragic fate of its hero Mindia, in the Northern mountainous region of Khevsureti. I started investigating and transcribing Khevsur folk music, which I found to possess the same stark beauty as Pshavela's poem.
I now composed the beginning of what I would like to become a full scale ballet. This Festive Dance is the sixth movement of what I have composed so far. It is a Khevsur dance in honour of Mindia's return. I arranged it for the Cory Band and their conductor Philip Harper as a way to thank them for commissioning me to compose Audita Tremendi, a piece that had been on my wish-list for years.

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!