Chanson de Nuit

Chanson de Nuit

Sound File
Sample Score SHOW PDF
Composer Grieg, Edvard
Arranger Mols, Diana
Instumentation Concert Band
Grade 3


Genre Concert Music
Included Parts

Flute 1-2
Oboe 1-2
English Horn
Bassoon 1-2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone  Saxophone
Bb Cornet 1-2
Bb Trumpet 1-2
F Horn 1-2
C Trombone 1
C Trombone 2
C Bass Trombone
C Euphonium (BC)
C Bass
String Bass

(Additional parts for Europe)






Chanson de Nuit, Op. 15, No. 1, is a musical work composed by Edward Elgar for violin and piano, and later orchestrated by the composer. Its first publication was in 1897, though it is considered that it was almost certainly written in 1889 or 1890.

It has invited comparison with, and has been said to be a finer work than its more popular “companion” piece, Chanson de Matin, Op. 15, No. 2.

The orchestral version of the work was published in 1899, and first performed, together with Chanson de Matin, at a Queen’s Hall Promenade Concert conducted by Henry Wood on 14 September 1901. The work was dedicated to F. Ehrke, Diana Mols.

You've just added this product to the cart: