Look up to the skies

Look up to the skies

Sound File
Sample Score SHOW PDF
Composer Zeh, Michael
Instumentation Concert Band
Grade 3


Genre Concert Music
Included Parts
  • Piccolo
  • Flute 1-2
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • Bb Clarinet 1-3
  • Bb Bass Clarinet
  • Eb Alto Saxophone 1-2
  • Bb Tenor Saxophone
  • Eb Baritone Saxophone
  • Bb Trumpet 1-3
  • Bb Cornet 1-2
  • F Horn 1-4
  • C Trombone 1-3
  • C Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Bb Baritone
  • C Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Mallets
  • Percussion 1-2
  • Eb Horn 1-4
  • Bb Trombone (TC) 1-3
  • Bb Trombone (BC) 1-3
  • Bb Baritone (TC)
  • Bb Baritone (BC)
  • Eb Bass (TC)
  • Eb Bass (BC)
  • Bb Bass (TC)
  • Bb Bass (BC)




“Look up to the skies” is a festive overture for wind orchestra by Michael Zeh. It was commissioned by the youth band of Musikschule Bietigheim (school of music) on the occasion of the orchestra trip to the USA in April 2011. In the run-up to the trip, conductor Ralf Janßen asked his music school teacher and composer Michael Zeh for this solemn composition as the opening of the concert program. The concert piece begins with radiant timbres in a calm and majestic prelude, which reveals the image of the endless sky. The human eye cannot grasp the heavens as a whole from the point of view of the earth – nor in space, nor dimension. Michael Zeh used this fascinating composition as the basis for his composition, creating a constant alternation of powerful but also light and playful melodic images which he combined with his ideas of celestial images: the sight of the night sky, the limitless universe extended and different colors of the day sky.

You've just added this product to the cart: