Concerto for Clarinet

Concerto for Clarinet

Sound File
Sample Score SHOW PDF
Composer Nelhybel, Vaclav
Arranger Upham, David
Instumentation Clarinet/ Full Orchestra/ With Soloist(s)
Grade 5


Genre Concert Music/ Solo Works

The Vaclav Nelhybel Edition

Included Parts

Solo Clarinet in Bb
Flute 1
Flute 2/Piccolo
English horn
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Bassoon 1, 2
Horn in F
Trumpet 1, 2 in Bb
Trombone 1, 2
Percussion 1 (Bells, 3 Tom-toms, Tam-tam)
Percussion 2 (Suspended cymbal, Vibraphone)
Percussion 3 (Xylophone, Chimes)
Violin I
Violin II
Double Bass






Vaclav Nelhybel composed the Concerto for Clarinet in a version with band accompaniment and conducted the premiere in November of 1982 at the 47th Annual Conference of the New York State School Music Association. Harold Easley was the soloist with the West Point Military Academy Concert Band. The orchestral version was completed at a later date, with no specific performance planned. The orchestral version was premiered in March 2020, by soloist Dr. Elizabeth Gunlogson, with the University of New Hampshire Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Dr. David Upham.

According to the composer’s widow, Dorothea Nelhybel, “…the work was written or begun in 1981, during the illness of our good friend Frank Stachow, to whose memory it is dedicated.” Mr. Stachow was the clarinetist and former chairman of the woodwind department at Lebanon Valley College in Annville, Pennsylvania.

Critical Commentary free download:
Nelhybel_Clarinet Concerto_Critical Commentary

You've just added this product to the cart: